Alberta Mycological Society

(club home | news/articles | events | discussion | sites | other clubs)

Alberta Mycological Society

The Alberta Mycological Society is a non-profit organization that was founded by Prof. Randy Currah and Helene (Leni) Schalkwijk-Barendsen in 1987. From the modest beginnings of the Edmonton Mushroom Club with a small local membership comprised of professional and amateur mushroom lovers, we became the Edmonton Mycological Society.

We changed our name in 2007 to the Alberta Mycological Society in response to our increasing influence in all things mycological in Alberta and our growing province-wide membership and activities. We have recently celebrated our 32nd Anniversary with almost 400 members from across Alberta and beyond.

Contact Info:

Alberta Mycological Society

P.O. Box 1921

10405 Jasper Avenue Standard Life Building

Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3S2




  • New Eden
  • Kids Garden
  • Plant a Row Grow a Row